featured_mode: card | illustrationThere is no single best home loan in Pakistan; for salaried borrowers MCB, Bank AL Habib and Bank Alfalah price at KIBOR + 2–3%, BankIslami and Bank AL Habib offer the highest limits (Rs150m and Rs100m), and Meezan and UBL Ameen have the lowest minimum income thresholds.
The best home loan in Pakistan depends on who you are. Salaried borrowers get the lowest spreads, typically KIBOR + 3%, and MCB drops to KIBOR + 2% if you put in at least half the price. Self-employed borrowers pay KIBOR + 3.5–4% at most banks.
We checked eleven home finance products directly on banks' own websites in October 2026. The table below shows what each bank publishes. Where a bank does not state a figure, we say so rather than guess.
Bank home finance comparison table (last checked Oct 2026)
| Bank & product | Type | Max tenure | Max financing | Pricing basis | Min income (salaried / self-employed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MCB Home Loan | Conventional | 25 years | Rs50m "or even higher" | 6M KIBOR + 2–3% (salaried), + 2.5–3.5% (self-employed), by equity | Rs75,000 / Rs100,000 net per month |
| Bank AL Habib House Finance | Conventional | 25 years | Rs100m (Home Buyer) | 1Y KIBOR + 3% (salaried), + 3.5% (others) | Rs60,000 / Rs100,000 take-home |
| Bank Alfalah Home Finance | Conventional | 25 years | No stated limit (Home Buyer); 80% of value | 1Y KIBOR + 3% (salaried), + 4% (self-employed, NRP) | Rs75,000 / Rs150,000 net |
| UBL Address | Conventional | Not stated | Not stated (min Rs1m) | KIBOR + 3.5% (salaried), + 4% (SEB/SEP) | Rs150,000 |
| Meezan Easy Home | Islamic (Diminishing Musharakah) | Not stated (3–20 years for NRPs) | Not stated (Rs0.5m–50m for NRPs); 75% salaried, 65% business | KIBOR + 3% (salaried), + 4% (business); floor 8%, cap 30% | Rs50,000 / Rs100,000 gross |
| BankIslami MUSKUN | Islamic (DM + Ijarah) | 25 years | Rs150m; up to 75% | Rent-based; benchmark not stated | Rs60,000 (salaried) |
| Bank AL Habib Islamic Housing Finance | Islamic (DM) | 25 years | Rs100m (Home Buyer) | 1Y KIBOR + 3% (salaried), + 3.5% (others) | Rs60,000 / Rs100,000 |
| Bank Alfalah Islamic Home Musharakah | Islamic (DM) | 25 years | Not stated; up to 80% | Not stated on page (rate sheet linked) | Rs75,000 / Rs150,000 |
| UBL Ameen Address | Islamic (DM) | 20 years | Rs50m (purchase, construction) | 1Y KIBOR (ask) + 3.5% | Rs25,000 / Rs75,000 net |
| Standard Chartered Saadiq Home Finance | Islamic (DM) | 25 years | Rs55m (purchase) | Floating, or hybrid fixed 3/5 years | Rs300,000 |
| HBL Islamic Home Mortgage (Roshan Digital) | Islamic, for non-residents | Not stated | Rs75m | Not stated | Rs400,000 equivalent (salaried only) |
"Not stated" means the product page did not publish that figure when we checked. Ask the bank for its Key Fact Statement.
How to read the pricing column
Every bank above links its rate to KIBOR, the interbank benchmark published through SBP. On 10 August 2026, the 1-year KIBOR offer rate was 12.09% and the 6-month offer was 11.76%.
So, at that date, a salaried borrower at Bank AL Habib (1Y KIBOR + 3%) would have started near 15.09%. An MCB salaried borrower with under 30% equity (6M KIBOR + 3%) would have started near 14.76%. With 50% equity, MCB's spread falls to 2%, giving about 13.76%.
The spread is fixed for the life of the loan. KIBOR resets, usually yearly. The spread is the number to compare.
Worked example: same loan, different banks
Rs10 million over 20 years, using the 10 August 2026 KIBOR rates and assuming no change:
| Pricing | Starting rate | Monthly instalment |
|---|---|---|
| 1Y KIBOR + 3% (salaried, most banks) | 15.09% | ~Rs132,300 |
| 1Y KIBOR + 3.5% (UBL Ameen; BAHL non-salaried) | 15.59% | ~Rs136,000 |
| 1Y KIBOR + 4% (Alfalah self-employed) | 16.09% | ~Rs139,800 |
Half a percentage point of spread costs about Rs3,700 a month here. Over 20 years that is close to Rs900,000.
Best for salaried borrowers
MCB has the most attractive published spread if you can put in a large deposit. KIBOR + 2% at 50% equity is the lowest spread in our table. MCB requires a local co-borrower who is a blood relative.
Bank AL Habib pairs KIBOR + 3% with a high Rs100 million cap for home buyers and a lower Rs60,000 minimum take-home salary. Its page also states a 2-year grace period, markup only, during construction financing.
Bank Alfalah prices salaried borrowers at KIBOR + 3% and lets you choose 6-month KIBOR instead. It allows up to two co-borrowers to combine income.
Best for Islamic home finance
Meezan Easy Home has the lowest gross income threshold among the big Islamic lenders: Rs50,000 a month for permanent salaried staff. Its Women First version drops this to Rs40,000 for salaried women. Note the lower financing share: up to 75% for salaried customers and 65% for business people.
BankIslami MUSKUN offers the largest stated ceiling at Rs150 million. Early settlement costs 5% in the first year and nothing after that.
UBL Ameen Address lists a net minimum of only Rs25,000 for salaried customers but caps tenure at 20 years.
Best for overseas Pakistanis
Several banks finance NICOP and POC holders. HBL's Roshan Digital mortgage goes to Rs75 million but asks for a salary equivalent to Rs400,000 and employment with a multinational or large group. Meezan finances NRPs from Rs0.5 million to Rs50 million over 3–20 years. Bank Alfalah offers Roshan Apna Ghar for RDA holders at 1Y KIBOR + 4%.
Standard Chartered Saadiq accepts NRPs in selected Gulf and Asian countries, but only finances property in selected areas of Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad/Rawalpindi.
The 5% government option
If you are a first-time buyer, compare all of the above against the federal Apna Ghar scheme. It offers up to Rs10 million at a 5% fixed markup for ten years, over up to 20 years, through participating commercial, Islamic and microfinance banks and HBFC.
On Rs10 million over 20 years, that is about Rs66,000 a month for the first decade, roughly half the commercial instalment. The catch: you must not own any housing unit, and the unit size is capped.
Bank limits vs SBP limits
SBP's 2026 housing finance regulations allow 30-year tenure, 90% LTV and a 65% debt burden ratio. No bank page we checked yet advertises all three.
| Limit | SBP ceiling | What bank pages show |
|---|---|---|
| Tenure | 30 years | 20–25 years |
| Financing share | 90% | 65–85% for most products |
| DBR | 65% | 40–50% where stated (Bank AL Habib 50%; UBL Ameen 45–50%; Meezan Women First 40–45%) |
Bank pages may lag the rules. Ask each bank whether its credit policy now uses the new limits.
Red flags when comparing offers
- A quoted rate with no spread. Ask: "KIBOR plus what, which tenor, and when does it reset?"
- No Key Fact Statement. Banks publish KFS documents; get one before you sign.
- Silence on prepayment. Charges differ. BankIslami charges 5% in year one; Apna Ghar allows penalty-free early repayment.
- Mandatory insurance priced in secret. SBP requires lenders to tell you the coverage type, premium rate and charges.
- An agent who promises approval. Banks decide after credit and title checks, not before.
This guide is general information; confirm current rates with FBR/the bank/a lawyer before you pay.
Sources
- MCB Home Loans — tenure, limit, equity-based pricing, income, co-borrower rule
- Bank AL Habib House Finance — tenure, limits, pricing, income, DBR
- Bank AL Habib Islamic Housing Finance (DM) — Islamic product terms
- Bank Alfalah Home Finance — products, pricing, income, LTV
- Bank Alfalah Islamic Home Musharakah — Islamic product terms
- UBL Address — pricing, income, minimum loan
- UBL Ameen Address — tenure, limits, pricing, income, DBR
- Meezan Easy Home — structure, financing ratio, pricing, income, NRP terms
- Meezan Women First — women's income thresholds and DBR
- BankIslami MUSKUN Home Financing — tenure, limits, ratio, income, early settlement
- Standard Chartered Saadiq Home Finance — tenure, limits, income, locations
- HBL Roshan Digital Mortgages — NRP limit and income
- SBP KIBOR quotes, 10 August 2026 — KIBOR rates
- SBP Prudential Regulations for Housing Finance 2026 — regulatory ceilings
- ProPakistani: Govt reduces markup rate for housing finance scheme — Apna Ghar terms